Newbie looking for 1st coin error. Please help ?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Yvon, May 1, 2024.

Tags:
  1. Yvon

Yvon New Member

I am a newbie to coin collecting and love the quarters in particular. I am looking to find my first Error Coin. I have a 1984 quarter which I believe is an error coin and not a damaged coin. It appears on the edge/rim of coin and extends into the word Trust on Obverse side. The mint mark also seems to be double struck.

If it is an error what do you think it is worth ? Would appreciate any comments.

IMG_4383[1222].jpg IMG_4383[1222].jpg IMG_4384[1223].jpg IMG_4384[1223].jpg

Neal likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Coins4Eli

Coins4Eli Collector of Early American Copper

Welcome to the forums! :D

I'm sorry, but your quarter is sadly just damaged. :sorry:
    Finding a real error coin in circulation can be tough, and even then, most errors that can be found are very minor.

VistaCruiser69, Spark1951 and Neal like this.
  4. Neal

Neal Well-Known Member

Welcome to Coin Talk. I'm afraid your coin is just damaged, having been gouged. The D mint mark is shows normal wear. The reason error coins are so special, and so fun to find, is that they are quite rare. The folks at the mint are pretty good at what they do most of the time. On the other hand, errors, especially the minor ones, occur often enough that they are not impossibly rare, which makes it fun to look. Some fairly common errors are brand new dimes with small die chips, appearing as small lumps in Roosevelt's hair or face, and sometimes in the devices on the reverse. Because they are not rare they are not worth a lot more than a dime, if anything, but they are errors. Sometimes it is hard to know what is an error and what is damage. The more you learn about how coins are made, the easier it is to tell the difference. Rule of thumb, if it looks cut, especially if there is even a little metal pushed up on the edge of the cut, it is damage.